Bird House Fun! Bluebirds and Swallows

April 27, 2011 at 12:30 pm

swallow claiming housethe postWell, as planned, on Monday I spent most of the day putting up bird houses. When I woke up on Monday morning I was pretty sure I saw a Bluebird and that did it! I was out and down to the Amish farm to purchase cedar posts. When I returned I began choosing the places to put the houses. In March I cleaned out all of the existing bird houses but wanted to add more. Seeing that Bluebird motivated me to take action and add more. To the left is the pole after it was put in, before I mounted the first bird house.

swallow going toward house

The first place I put a house was at the back of our yard. There had always been a bird house near there but when we got rid of what used to be the sheep yard, a couple of the bird houses went with it. I was very excitedly banging in the first post when I suddenly heard a noise. It was the flapping of wings and the brief sight of something. As it turned out, a swallow was circling. The circling soon became dive bombing and before I could get the second screw into the post, the bird had claimed the house!  I did manage to get back to secure it with a second screw, thankfully. It was great fun!

 

Entry filed under: Nature, Spring, St. Lawrence County, St. Lawrence Valley. Tags: , , , , , .

Birdhouse for Robins and Swallows


https://twitter.com/NorthForkBBGift

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

What’s New at the B&B

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

