Birds and their Nests

July 1, 2011 at 6:14 pm Leave a comment

I realize it’s been a while since my last post. I’m pretty sure it’s about a month now. I have finished school for now and have begun to catch my breath. My plan is to get back to blogging on a regular basis. I did find that the computer was taking up way too much of my time and I needed to get away from it and outside, walking and gardening, planting and just relaxing in the sunshine, listening to the birds and taking in everything around us. The day before yesterday was the arrival of the wren. I was sure they weren’t coming this year. Probably changing the house, I figured. Low and behold, she chose the chickadee house to build her nest and she wasn’t the least bit quiet about it either. I was able to get some pretty awesome shots of her nest building.

 Today, day three, she seems to have settled down somewhat. This was the chickadee bird house I had written about in the spring. The other house I had written about was the one designed for robins and swallows. Was I ever surprised to see a robin checking out the house. I thought it was too late but that was not the case. She built her nest on top of the box instead of inside of it but who knows what goes on in the mind of the robin? Yesterday, I saw some pointy things and wondered what they were. I was so suprised to find that they were the babies AND those babies were nearly fledglings! Every time I go in and out of the shop, I see these little darlings. Of course the one time they were both standing up and trying out their new wing feathers, I did not have my camera! I will try to get some pictures of that in the upcoming days, if they don’t fly away before hand. Baby Robins I will continue to keep a close eye on all of these birds and let you know what happens. In the mean time, I am working on making products. My goal is to complete everything I have supplies to make. I’ll be posting these in the near future so be looking for them.

Please go to my new website http://www.northforkbedandbreakfastgifts.com  Please sign up there to follow my blog. This is the new central location for both the B&B and the gift shop. Hope to see you there!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Trees Are Gone If You’re looking for me I’ve moved!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


https://twitter.com/NorthForkBBGift

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

What’s New at the B&B

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

